ingluisantonio
Newly Registered

Grape Leaves Not Growing

I am completely new to bonsai gardening. I am used to caring for orchids, not bonsai. I have a grape vine bonsai. In the beginning it was doing fine, but as winter arrived its leaves which were about 1 square inch started falling off. I assumed it was going dormant but the leaves came back.
I realized the leaves had signs of biting. I found a spider in its soil. I used something I read about to get rid of the spider mite: a combination of water, vegetable oil, and a little dish soap. The mite seems to have died and the leaves no longer showed signs of bitting and I have not seen spider mites in its soil.
But the leaves again fell off. I again assumed it was going dormant but the leaves came back. But this time, they did not grow. They grew up to less than 1/5 of their original size, turned blackish, dried up, and fell off. They were replaced by new ones but these did not grow again. This has been going on for a while.
I need help with it. I want it to live and be happy.
I water it every day, I put some water on the plate where its pot sits, so that it does not suffer from the dryness of the apartment. It is sitting in a South-facing window with plenty of sun.
Can anyone help me with this?

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

ingluisantonio,

Temperate plants require a yearly dormancy period, it's in their nature. If you wish to continue with bonsai in an apartment setting then you need to look to tropicals and sub-tropicals not temperate plants.

The Grape may have been trying to enter dormancy or it may have lost it's leaves due to less than ideal culture. Regardless, I fear that in several attempts to put out new leaves that it has become so weak that it may not recover.