bonsaidude
Cool Member

Should I Trim my Chinese Elm Bonsai?

hey everyone I'm new to bonsai pround owner of chinese elm about 10 years old. Had him for about 5 days now he seems to be doing great alot of new growth I do see some dieing leaves and some yellow but I'm not to worried cuase he has alot of green. I was wondering he has some random just twigs in the top part that don't have leaves and arent doin much are these important or can I trim these anytime or just wait for when I prune. Other than that I'm hopin for the best and I care for him like a baby but not to much lol heres some pictures

When I got him
[img]https://img26.imageshack.us/img26/1808/picture030ud.jpg[/img]

After I gave him a home
[img]https://img63.imageshack.us/img63/6651/picture032fc.jpg[/img]

Close up of moss
[img]https://img26.imageshack.us/img26/4995/picture031e.jpg[/img]

Some of the dieing leaves :( figure its normal you tell me
[img]https://img135.imageshack.us/img135/1897/picture036h.jpg[/img]

djlen
Green Thumb

Hi bonsaidude and welcome to the forum -

A couple of questions for you. Are those stones on the surface of the soil glued down? Many store bought trees are made that way, with the stones glued in order to keep the soil in during shipping. If they are, you must remove them as they interfere with the aeration of the soil and watering.
Does the pot have holes in the bottom? When you water, does the water run through and out the bottom fairly freely?
These are important considerations for your tree's long term health. That's why I ask.
Now for lighting. Is it getting just available light from a window or are you supplying extra fluorescent light over it? It will do much better with bright light and at this time of year a window rarely supplies enough light to satisfy the needs of an Elm. Elms need a period of dormancy each year and with low light an Elm will think it is time to rest and may start dropping it's leaves.