hippowarrior
Newly Registered

complete novice, needs help with Zanthoxylum - pepper tree

Hi there

I'm sure the experienced amongst you see this kind of post frequently, I've looked through some of the others and not found any of the info I'm looking for, so I'm at your mercy in my cry for help.

I was given a Zanthoxylum - pepper tree as a gift for Christmas. Apparently it's around 15 years old, it came with a very small amount of info regarding care, some pruners and a bag of small rocks (food?) I understand that it requires lots of light and will survive well in very cool tempratures, which is a good job considering our weather at the moment!
I've placed it in my kitchen window.
The tree is about 1foot high and is a vague "S" shape. it has 4 branches that are about 1cm thick, coming straight from the trunk and around 5 or 6 branches that are approx 1/2cm tick then numerous twigs.
I can see it's been worked on over the years as there are a few nothches on the trunk where branches have clearly been pruned.

The info that came with the tree advises completely submersing the pot in water around once a week during winter or "as & when required" however on reading some of the other info on here, that doesn't appear to be right.

I'm scared to death of pruning it, although I have been, by snipping off new shoots and trying to keep some shape to it, although it seems to be quite sparse, I've read some items talking about "pairs" and allowing certain ones to grow & pruning others. I'm at a loss what to do to be honest.

I'd appreciate tips on watering, feeding & pruning, and would love some photo's of pepper tree's to give me an idea of what they should look like.

This morning upon attempting to water & prune, a lot of the leaves have fallen off, although the new shoots are in good order, so I don't think I've killed it!!

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

hippowarrior,