arborrelli

Bonsai beginner with questions on overwintering and other...

I'm fairly new to the whole Bonsai business, but my dad used to be into it when I was a child and he gave me his books to read.

After researching a bunch of plants, I've obtained a small collection of trees. I want to make sure that they survive over the winter, because we have a tendency to get a lot of snow where I live in New York (and it doesn't look all that promising this winter either...).
I was thinking of moving them into my dad's workshop (unheated), to protect them from at least the snow element, and obtaining some mulch to insulate the plastic pots that I have them in and the ones that I have planted in the ground. Would this be a good plan of action?

Also, I was wondering if anyone had any experience with growing and training a Japanese Wisteria? I managed to find some vines that were starting to root, and I placed them into some sand to hopefully grow stronger. I've killed at least two via root rot (though I had used a too moisture retentive mix) and lost one to a creature. Can anyone give me any advice for them?

Thanks!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Welcome to the forum! Glad you found us, hope you find it friendly and helpful. I'm not a bonsai person, but while we are waiting for one to come along, can I suggest you tell us what kind of trees you have? I'm sure it makes a big difference. Some trees are much more cold hardy than others. Also where in New York are you? Do you know what USDA hardiness zone you are in? New York state has a big range from zone 3 in the mountains to zone 6 in New York city and even a bit of zone 7 in Long Island. That's the same as the range from Minnesota to Georgia...

If you provide this information, when a bonsai grower comes along, they will be able to help you a lot more.

arborrelli

Depending on the map, I am usually in zone 6.

Most of my trees are found from our area (mainly my yard and some from my grandma's house).