Stormwatcher

Advice Please? :) Juniper and Maple

Um. Wall of text, anyone? :P

I am not *completely* new to bonsai, but I may as well be. :) I have had bonsai before, but they never survived long. Part of this is because I am a full time college student, and my permanent residence (PA) is on the other side of the country from my college (AZ). This summer, my plants seem to be doing remarkably well, but I thought I would have the foresight to ask for advice ahead of time so I'm more informed when bumps come along. Feel free to tell me I've got delusions. :P

There are pictures here: [url]https://picasaweb.google.com/cftalo/Bonsai#[/url]

The first tree has been dubbed "Dan" - short for a fantasy language translation of "Long Branch." I'm the weird sort of person who names everything. :P I got Dan in AZ from a traveling bonsai salesman. I've heard good and bad things about buying touristy type bonsai, but I talked with the guy a while, and it seemed he knew what he was talking about. And the tree that I did end up buying seemed to have this healthy air about it - something I'd never noticed in any other trees I'd bought. The guy's instructions to me were to keep the plant moist, the humidity high, and to frequently put the plant outside. AZ doesn't have the nicest climate, so I only put him outside after the brutal morning sun had passed into the shade of the building, and I took him inside each night to avoid said sun. I believed I didn't have to mist the tree because the pot Dan came in is a split pot - one side tree, the other side a tiny pond.