Marigoldman
Newly Registered

Sargent Juniper - Brown leaves

I would appreciate any help regarding the first bonsai I have ever bought. It is a Sargent Juniper which I have had for 4 weeks. It was kept inside for the first 2 weeks before I read that they should be kept outside. It has been watered almost every day. When I bought it there were a few brown leaves at the base of a couple of branches and gradually there have been more and more leaves turning brown spreading upwards. I have posted two pictures of the tree below and would appreciate any explanation and advice as to what I can do to stop this trend continuing. I am a complete amateur when it comes to gardening, let alone 'bonsaiing'.

[img]https://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss334/marigoldman/IMG_3781.jpg[/img]
[img]https://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss334/marigoldman/IMG_3782.jpg[/img]

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

Marigoldman,

Hello and welcome to The Helpful Gardener. Being from Australia you have dodged a bullet by discovering that your tree belongs outside. Since you only had it inside for a few weeks you probably caught it in time. It should be allowed to stay outside, unprotected, until the weather really gets rough. I leave mine out during the winter, on the ground and mulched in well from about December on.

You may be experiencing some effect from keeping it inside or you may be watering it too frequently, or possibly both.
It has been watered almost every day.
Are you certain that it required to be watered every day? You cannot water on a schedule, do so as necessary. This will be dependent upon your weather and the type of soil the tree is in, among other things. Can you describe the soil/medium the plant is potted in? Is it dense and peaty or loose and gritty? If the former, you are possibly watering too frequently. Has your your weather cooled down yet? If so this will also lessen the plants requirement for frequent watering.

Norm

Marigoldman
Newly Registered