Extreme
Newly Registered

Bonsai Beginner

Good morning all,

I am very new to this bonsai tree growing thing. I was given one as a gift recently, and if I am not mistaken, its call June snow, or snow June or something like that.
Well I have been looking after it as best as I can, and in the last week, it is like its on steroids, just shooting new leaves and stem things. Is this normal?? :D

The Helpful Gardener
Mod

June snow is usually the comman name for Serissa foetida, also known as Thousand Stars. The shooting condition is not a bad sign at all; means you are being dililgent with watering anyway. These are likely water shoots, sprouts caused by high moisture conditions and definitely par for the course with this plant. Think of it as a sign that you can cut back watering just a tad; not a lot mind you, this is a tropical and new growth is a constant on this plant. Cut back to fit your look you are going for and don't let the growth get too congested, but consider this a good sign you are on the right track...

Scott

Extreme
Newly Registered

ah thats great news, thanks. I was starting to get a little worried, as the tree is meant to stay small.........hahah I will slow down a little on the watre, its that it has been so hot here, that i was scared that something would happen to it.
What would you suggest about feeding the tree??

The Helpful Gardener
Mod

Going into the winter you should back off the food and let it rest a little; even tropicals take a little break from growing. Start feeding again in spring; sounds like there is still plenty of soil fertility in that pot...

HG

Earlthepearl
Newly Registered

I have just recieved a Juiper Bonsai from someone. I live in Maine ...... It's gets rather cold here. I hear this is an outside Plant. This poor things gunna freeze solid if I leave it outside. Should I just put it out on nice days for the winter and bring it in during nights and bad weather? I woud think this would be a shock to the plant.