artistgayle

Question about Cuttings...

I just got a Ficus Benjamina (Weeping Fig) it's a bit to large to be a Bonsai but I would like to take a cutting off it for a bonsai I'm pretty new to all this and I'm not to sure how to go about it, I've got some Rooting Hormonal Powder but I've had no success with it so far...any ideas? Also which part of the tree would I cut?

kdodds
Greener Thumb

Generally, you cut soft wood (new growth) in the spring and summer and hard wood (old growth) in the fall and winter. So, you'd want to take new growth cuttings. IME, F. benjamina and its various varieties don't "take well" to cuttings. I've tried a few times with no luck. I've also used rooting hormone. You might try various methods (I have not), including heating the bottom of the growing pot, making it into a "green house" by wrapping it in plastic, or just placing the cutting in some water instead of using soil. A better option for you, though, might be to use the "air layering" method, which would potentially give you pretty advanced little tree in a relatively short period of time.

artistgayle

Wow I never thought of Air layering XD I mean I've heard it a number of times but never thought to look it up Thanx for the advice

I'm actually trying it in a number of different ways I've got 2 cuttings right now one I have in just water and another I put hormonal solution on it and stuck it in soil I think I'm gonna try Air Layering as well,

I'll let you guys know how it turns out who knows maybe I can one day help someone else like me XD

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

artistgayle,