AllSmiles
Newly Registered

Help Juniper in Distress!

Hey there! My sweet mother-in-law purchased a very young Japanese Juniper "Bonsai". I am obviously a newbie and have no clue what to do - I have researched many pages and have found good info but my problem is this: she bought it in Florida and I am in the great state of Tennessee. I am assuming since it is from the sunshine state that it has not been in a dormancy period. Being a newbie I was confused - keep it inside as to not shock it into dormancy or keep it outside........both options undesirable.......

Anyone who knows anything about TN knows that weather can change considerably in just a day - case in point it has been 60 degrees during the day and low 30's at night and now today it is a high of 38 and raining.

I read that junipers are not to be kept inside so I put it outside not considering the fact that it was probably not in a dormancy state and I am afraid that I have shocked it. It has been watered as necessary but other than that what should I do - keep it inside during the cold days and wait until next fall for it to go into dormancy on it's own??

My mother-in-law kept it in the house for a week and a half before she gave it to me and it looked better then than it does now. It is getting brown needles and it has lost it's dark green color in some spots. Is there anything I can do to save this poor guy?

Oh - I put it on a covered, wind protected, screened in patio...........sun in the morning and shade in the afternoon.

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

AllSmiles,