richm2778
Cool Member

Please Help My Ficus named Buddha!

Hello Everyone.

I am new to bonsai, and I have a ficus retusa that has unfortunately been the brunt of my mistakes so far. I have named him Buddha and he is a trooper. I purchased Buddha last August from a Wal-Mart for 14 dollars. Apparently, he was 6 or 7 years old at the time. I recently repotted Buddha and I apparently read some bad information about root pruning. I took too much off!!! Since then, Buddha has been repotted and he has been treated with rooting hormone and fertilizer. I was wondering if any of you have any tips about how I can stimulate growth and help Buddha to recover from my error... I would hate myself if he died because of my ignorance. Any elp is appreciated.

Rich

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

Rich,
I was wondering if any of you have any tips about how I can stimulate growth and help Buddha to recover from my error.
Patience. It will simply take a while to reestablish itself. You don't say if it is showing any obvious signs of distress or is simply not as vigorous as it had been.

I was going to mention to make sure you provide warmth and light but in your location that should not be too difficult. Just wait it out and take it easy on the fertilizer until it shows signs of new growth. Some say not to use any but I don't subscribe to that concept. Since you've fertilized it already just go slow at first. An occasional misting certainly won't hurt either.

I'm almost afraid to ask what kind of soil you've used when you re-potted it, hopefully something free draining and gritty as opposed to heavy and peat-like.

In the future always do your research first and act second. I've made some stupid errors like this in the past.

Norm

richm2778
Cool Member

Thanks Gnome.