OceanFire

New Ming Aralia Recieved - need help

Hi everyone,
So I'm new to the bonsai thing, although I have been reading the posts and articles on this site for a few months. I just recieved a Ming Aralia bonsai tree from Amazon.com as an early Christmas gift :D (you can see a picture of it by typing its name into Amazon.com), and am a little worried about it. It was not packed well - when I opened the box, the soil had spilled out into the packing peanuts and the bonsais (there are three trunks) came out very easily (as in, didn't stay in at all). I pruned the thick roots because they had formed three tight circles (just like when you pull other plants out of small containers). so my question is twofold - 1) did I damage the bonsai too badly by cutting about 50% of this thick root off and 2) is it better to get new soil now or wait for the roots to recover by (hopefully) early spring? If I damaged the roots, what special care should I give the tree to prevent it from dying?

thank you for your help!

webmaster
Site Admin

Is this it?

[img]https://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/61e%2Br1ZOG5L._SS400_.jpg[/img]

OceanFire

yes

arboricola

Here's a link that may be helpful.

https://www.rhapisgardens.com/ming-aralias/

Phil...

OceanFire

Thank-you for that website - it is great to get such a detailed background of my new bonsai

kdodds
Greener Thumb