Cuda52774
Cool Member

Winter rains

I may have asked this before, but can't find the thread in which I asked it.

Being a beginner, I'm worried about the amount of watering my trees are getting from rain when they aren't using as much water during their dormancy.

Do I need to be worried about root rot during the winter months with the soil being soaked once a week? The soil my trees are in is not very free draining since they are still in the potting soil that I originally bought them in. I'm waiting for spring re-potting to put them in a better soil.

I may be being overly cautious, but I don't know how much is too much when it comes to rain.

Cuda

alexinoklahoma

Not a problem unless its the kind of area which willows and other 'water-lovers' would prefer ;-) If water stands there, or if it is the last part of an area that dries after rains, then there *may* be an issue. See where I'm coming from?

Just opinion, too - ain't there to see first-hand, of course...
Alex

Cuda52774
Cool Member

I don't have them in the ground. They're in containers and I'm about to bring them in for the winter but I want them to stay outside as much as possible during the fall. I was also worried that I was bringing them in too early but all have lost their leaves except for the juniper of course. I've noticed that the juniper still uses more water than the others making me think it's not completely dormant yet.

Maybe I should just leave the juniper out for a while longer??

Cuda

alexinoklahoma

I do not think it gets cold enough in Atlanta to worry about a Juniper ;-) Here in Central OK, I have *never* protected any Juniper, and no probs (yet?)... A pot above ground will not have sog issues from rain(s) as long as the soil-mix is 'free-draining' as recommended. Bad soil may show issues if rains persist for ~months+ (not just a couple rains here and there, so to speak). The (dormant) roots are pretty tough...

Alex

Cuda52774
Cool Member