yag
Newly Registered

Ilex Crenata 7 years old.

Hi all;

I have been given an Ilex Crenata which is 7 years old, and has a height of 23cm. The problem is that I'm not even sure whether it is an indoor or outdoor bonsai.
I live in a flat in Gothenburg Sweden. I can put the bonsai in a balcony where it can see the morning sunlight or in front of a window (indoors) where it will recieve afternoon sunlight.
I also have some questions about watering. I have read here and learned about the toothpick test but I just wanted to be sure: I stick a toothpick to the soil and if there is no soil on it I should water the plant? How much water and how should I water like using a cup or some other equipment.

Thanks for your care,
I do not want to kill my bonsai in just a week = /

Gnome
Mod

yag,

Hello and welcome. I have no first hand experience with this species so my comments will be general in nature.
I live in a flat in Gothenburg Sweden. I can put the bonsai in a balcony where it can see the morning sunlight or in front of a window (indoors) where it will recieve afternoon sunlight.
I would choose the balcony although some protection may be required during the coldest months of winter, see the link below for specific recommendations.
I also have some questions about watering. I have read here and learned about the toothpick test but I just wanted to be sure: I stick a toothpick to the soil and if there is no soil on it I should water the plant?
I don't use this method myself but I did try it out and it works well with a somewhat heavier soil. I suspect it would not be a good indicator if you have a free draining, open soil. After a while you will find that you will no longer need it as you will become accustomed to each of your plants needs.