tonyfirstyear79

How to Water Tomatoes? What is Too Much or Little?

Ok, I'm new at this... and everything I read and everyone I talk to all say different things...So I'll put this out to all you good people out there: How often do I water my tomato plants? and at what time of day? They are indeterminate growing in five gallon buckets. I water anywhere between 7-9 pm every night and the soil always seems very dry by the time I water again the next night. My plants are producing tomatoes like crazy!! but the plants themselves don't look healthy at all.... some of the tomatoes are catfaced but mostly they all look ok... the plants don't...
Also when I water I soak the soil really well... each bucket for a few minutes and in 24 hours... almost bone dry... (I wish I just planted them in the ground!) Am I watering too much? Too little? If I water in the morning around (7 am)will I get leaf burn?
So tell me about watering please!!
also the yellowing leaves at the bottom... big problem? Do I cut them off? If every leaf in a small(ish) branch is yellow do I cut the whole branch?
thank you

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

Do you have saucers/trays beneath the pots? If not, I would suggest adding this feature.

Why...the trays will provide a small reservoir of water for re-uptake into the containers once you've put away the hose/watering can for the night, giving the plants a margin of comfort they don't currently have. I water my 5-gallon-container tomatoes until the water is up to the top of the container, let the water go down, and then fill up again.

When you say "the soil seems very dry," are you actually testing it with your fingers? How far down is the dry layer?

What kind of soil/potting mix is in the 5-gallon pots?