kathleen3d
Newly Registered

what is this white scaly stuff on my tree trunk?

I have some white scales growing up the trunk of the tree in my front yard. I have just moved into the house and don't know what kind of tree it is. I also have a few other questions, like...why is this tree red when all the other ones are green? I'm new to gardening and need some advice!

I have great pictures, but don't know how to load them. If someone can help me, that would be great!

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

Instructions for posting pics are at the link below. :)

[url=https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3724]How to Post Pictures & Photos on Forums[/url]

kathleen3d
Newly Registered

Thanks for the help! Here are the pictures:

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

It's a shelf fungus. They usually grow on dead, rotting trees, so not a good sign.

"This fungus, which appears mushroom like growing on trunks and branches, is an indication of something more serious going on inside the tree.
Trees are subject to different types of wood rotting fungal diseases which severely affect their structural integrity. The extent of internal decay from these diseases is usually not evident from the outside. What you will see though, is the appearance of fruiting bodies or mushroom-like structures attached to bark and branches.
By the time these fruiting bodies occur, the branch or trunk will have been greatly weakened. These fruiting structures also indicate that the tree is failing to wall off the spread of this disease. Since the disease does not attack the food or water conducting vessels in the tree, the tree may appear to be otherwise healthy.