Brunkers
Newly Registered

Shogun Juniper Stiffness

I am new to Bonsai, and experienced Nursery Manager. I bought my shogun a month ago, and knew to put it outside two weeks and in for two days and so on.. now it has lost its soft needle texture to become stiff but still green...I just halfed the 20-20-20 fertilizer and set it outside...winter is almost here and I get six feet of snow and -10 to -20 degree temps from Oct through March up here in Alaska..I want to leave it outside but it should not be able to get covered with snow correct?
I think I caught the problem eairly on and will keep it outside for awhile
Just respond with some tips if you can.

Brunk (Live Nursery Spec. Lowes)

The Helpful Gardener
Mod

That "stiff" foliage is noty a good sign; junipers can remain green for a month or two after they die. The fertilizer has me a little nervous too; you should have been slowing the fertilizer intake a month ago at least.

I have a bad feeling your tree has already entered permanent dormancy, but I hope I'm wrong. Snow cover would be a good thing in your area; never colder than 32 degrees and adding moisture in a slow and controlled manner is a good thing this time of year.

So keep an eye on the tree; a recommended amount of Super Thrive would make me feel a little better about what I've heard, but do not be suprised if this tree is dead on the hoof :cry:

Scott

Brunkers
Newly Registered

ok, I figured as much...I can get Superthrive where I work, so I will try that. it also might have been re-planted to shallow by yours truly. I will give it another go if it dies, when my nursery gets another shipment in..

what's ten dollars to learn what I did wrong?

Brunk

The Helpful Gardener
Mod