Liz G
Newly Registered

Can I create a raised bed over wall foundations?

I have recently moved to a house with a bit of an unkempt garden, but which has a lovely big wall down one side. I want to dig a bed next to the wall and grow climbing plants up it. However, on further investigation it turns out that about 8 inches down you hit the wall foundation, which goes quite far out. From reading around I understand that you need more like 18 inches for most climbers. I'd rather avoid a raised bed if I can because it sounds like quite they need a lot more maintenance, but maybe that's the only option. I would be interested to hear your thoughts. I should mention that I am a complete novice gardener but very keen to learn :D .

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Hi and welcome to the Forum! So you are in the UK? ("bit of an unkempt" and "lovely big wall" sounds like British phraseology to me :) )

Is your wall concrete? stone? Makes a difference because concrete would be likely to affect the pH of the soil near it. Also concrete wall might be more affected by raising the soil level next to it.

How tall is the wall? This makes a difference for how much shade your climbers will be in. What direction does it face/ what is its sun exposure?

Whether you can grow vines in 8" of soil depends on what you plan to grow, which depends in part on how much sun the area there gets.

So you want a vine that will climb the wall by itself, I.e. has suckers? Many vines climb by tendrils, so they can't climb a solid wall and you would have to give them some trellis in front of the wall.