kfelton0002

Blackspot on DBL Knockouts

My husband bought me two new 3 gallon double knockout rose bushes last month. I didn't really notice it until a month after I had them planted (I'm new to gardening) but they were completely infested with black spot, all the way down to the very bottom of the canes. They had brown spots on the leaves when my husband brought them home but I didn't know what blackspot was until I recently read about it. I did not want to take any chances with them possibly infecting my other roses so I immediately cut out all diseased foliage and cut the canes down to around 2 inches from the soil. I sprayed what was left with antifungal and medicated with Bayer Advanced 3 in 1. At this point since the plants were purchased without any kind of warranty (flea market type deal) my approach was heal them or kill them. With this treatment do the roses stand a chance of coming back without the infection and will they come back at all? Knockouts are supposedly really resistant to blackspot but it was not the case with these. I'm assuming they were kept in a really humid greenhouse environment because the new growth I saw after planting the roses had no blackspot, only the old growth. Thanks in advance for any input.

kfelton0002

They were in knockout containers and looked healthy other than brown spots on the leaves. I though at first maybe they had gotten too hot but then I researched blackspot and thats what it is. Knockouts are resistant to an extent but not immune. They can still get it if conditions are favorable for the fungus to grow. Or so Ive read. Thank u for the reply! I hope they come back.

imafan26
Mod

Roses with glossy leaves fare better against fungal diseases like powdery mildew and downy mildew, but when the weather is wet and humid the conditions are ideal for the fungi to grow.

Roses are high maintenance and for the most part require regular, pruning, feeding and fungicide and pest control.