mikeabraham
Newly Registered

Ideal starter greenhouse size

Hi All

I suppose its a question that gets asked a lot but, what is the best size of greenhouse to get started with growing fruit and veg and setting off seeds
Space is not an issue and you will probably say get as big as you can, but I am just starting out, would it be best to get one that is easily added to, if so, does anyone know of any with a feature like this they can recommend?

Thanks

Mike

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

I would suggest setting one up that is maybe 1.5 or 2x bigger than you would think was adequate. But since you are just starting out, consider building an inexpensive frame and plastic film greenhouse. Use that for a few seasons, and then begin to plan a permanent greenhouse. The trial version will give you lots of information. What size do I really need? You won't know until you start using the greenhouse and your interests evolve to maximize the use of the space. What kind of heating do I want to use? The film greenhouse will show you how difficult a greenhouse is to heat, and will force you to educate yourself on the best options. It also, may make you reconsider the size, especially the height of the space. You will learn the advantage of having both water and electricity run into the space. A greenhouse really, really needs fans and air movement. The advantage of on site direct watering capability if not obvious, will become so very quickly. What kinds of tables, shelves, benches do I want to include. Should I have a special seed starting area, with supplemental light? What storage areas are needed and where should they be placed, inside or outside? What kind of ventilation will the space need?