Bent

50' x 80' greenhouse

Good day to you all. I am located in the center of Alberta, with a 76 day growing season which is comprised of millions of grasshoppers , deer and moose who treat my garden like a salad bar.

Being a welder by trade, I decided to build a structure to enclose our garden. I just have to run some electrical and then set up an automatic irrigation system for it. I have a few ideas on how to control it...but would love some input.

I feel that the 3 - 220 volt 48" fans I have installed should help control the Summer heat and I am not planning to use the garden year round, so I didn't install any heat.

The main concerns I have are: Weed control and work station size and location.

When I designed the trusses, I decided to add holes in the splice plates, so I could hang plants from the bottom chord. I am hoping to test these out on some tomato's and cucumbers next summer.
Attachments
1.jpg
1.jpg (26.65 KiB) Viewed 15970 times
2.jpg
3.jpg
3.jpg (33.99 KiB) Viewed 15970 times
3.5.jpg
3.5.jpg (39.27 KiB) Viewed 15970 times
4.jpg
4.jpg (45 KiB) Viewed 15970 times
5.jpg
5.jpg (36.09 KiB) Viewed 15972 times
Last edited by Bent on Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Bent

More pic's
Attachments
6.jpg
7.jpg
8.jpg
8.jpg (55.3 KiB) Viewed 15971 times
9.jpg
9.jpg (35.84 KiB) Viewed 15971 times
10.jpg
11.jpg
11.jpg (26.12 KiB) Viewed 15971 times

tomc
Super Green Thumb

Um, um what about snow pack?

Bent

I decided to use the Greenhouse as a winter storage facility for my boats but will boot them out next spring.

I bought 50 yards of 20 year old cow manure and placed it inside. I will till it into our sandy soil next spring.

I am planning on hilling the main area ( covered in manure ). I should get 15 rows with a 12" walkway between each row. There is a 4' walkway all the way around for benches or what have you.

My wife and I are really looking forward to our first greenhouse planting season next spring.
Attachments
12.jpg