oregon

so far so good. now what?

Hello,
this is the first plant I have ever started from a seed on purpose.
it is a mimosa tree (albizia julibrissin)

my plant's life so far:
> soaked in hot water for 24 hours
> placed 1/2 inch deep in the very airy soil shown in the picture
> kept the soil hot until the first signs of leaves emerged
> 17 days later, now what?

I know nothing about gardening or starting plants from seed; this is my first attempt.

please provide me with tips on how to keep this plant alive.
thanks!

[img]https://i51.tinypic.com/swqmmh.png[/img]

HydroCura

I say just keep fertilizing it. Add compost. And it's good to add some worms in that soil if it stays moist. They fertilize that soil with their poop. So just treat it like a plant that you bought. All the same. Remember that it must get sun everyday. Or growing lights if it's an indoor garden.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

I have doubts that an earthworm is likely to find enough food to sustain life in a 2-inch pot ... but who knows. [img]https://bestsmileys.com/clueless/4.gif[/img]

Water well until water drains freely from the bottom of the pot. Allow the soil to become dry down to about 1/4 inch below the surface, but if it gets dry down to 1/2 inch occasionally, the seedling will still be okay.

I wouldn't fertilize until after 3 months, if you used a packaged potting mix. Most of them contain slow-release fertilizers that last that long. When you do fertilize, use a very dilute solution.

Mimosa seedlings grow fairly quickly, so you'll want to check the drainage holes on the pot every few weeks. If you see root tips, then it's time to move your tree up to the next size pot.

If you plan to plant the tree in the ground, wait until it's a minimum of 12 inches tall.

Did you know mimosas are legumes, like beans? :)

oregon

thanks very much, this is some great information.
so you said...
I wouldn't fertilize until after 3 months, if you used a packaged potting mix.