kbeeman1127
Newly Registered

How to Care for a Jade Bonsai

Hi, I am new to bonsai. My fiance recently purchased a Jade tree. It is already started in a pot. I have read everything I can on jades and want to know if there is anything anyone can offer me. I know not to water it too much. It is in a bonsai pot and the place where he got it from put little rocks over the soil. I was wondering if this is ok to have them there because I have heard the rocks retain water which isn't good for the bonsai. I also want to shape it, but I want to know if I should wait to start shaping it and let it get use to the new environment. Any advice would be great!

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

kbeeman1127,
I have read everything I can on jades and want to know if there is anything anyone can offer me. I know not to water it too much.
Don't stress too much, Jades are among the easiest plants to keep. Give them as much light as you can manage (are you growing indoors or out? Or perhaps you can do a split season?) and make sure not to water too frequently. Note that this does not mean to be stingy with water when you do water, but to allow an appropriate interval to pass before watering again.

I always water Jades thoroughly, even what some might deem excessively. The key is to wait before watering again, the soil can literally become 'bone dry' and the plant is in no danger. Problems arise when water is supplied too frequently.
It is in a bonsai pot and the place where he got it from put little rocks over the soil. I was wondering if this is ok to have them there because I have heard the rocks retain water which isn't good for the bonsai.
If the rocks are glued on I would definitely remove them, they were a shipping aid and are no longer required and, as you noted, can cause problems. If they are loose then they are not such a problem.
I also want to shape it, but I want to know if I should wait to start shaping it and let it get use to the new environment.