altecice
Newly Registered

help with my "Chinese Privet Indoor Bonsai Tree"

hi, I am new to this fourm :D.. hope it can help me

well I have recently bought a chinese privet bonsai tree

age is approx 10years old

I bought it from here
https://www.kaizenbonsai.com/shop/product_info.php?cPath=53&products_id=1342

I have had it for just under a week now and I have noticed that the leaves of it seem to be turning brown then falling off I would like to say that I check the soil mosture everyday to see if it needs watering and I know that u shouldent water it agen untill the soil is dry to the touch

where I bought it from it said its an indoor tree so natualy its indoors on a windowcill with plenty of light and I make sure the tempreture is kept almost constant at around 25o

is this natural I know that sometimes looseing leaves can be a sign of stress

I have noticed that some of the new growth leaves and smaller leaves to the top of the tree look nice and healthy its just the big ones that seem to be falling off .. is it beacuse I am doing something wrong causeing stress on it I know that they drops leaves due to changes in environment ect. light levles and temp

I just want some information on this thanks :D

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

altecice,

Despite what the vendors says or implies there is really no such thing as an indoor tree. No trees evolved inside and very few will be at their best inside. Some species can do reasonably well inside if given the proper care but often that care is lacking from newcomers to bonsai culture.

I don't do a whole lot with "indoor species" because I have not made the investment in quality lighting that I feel is necessary to allow them to really thrive. The standard fluorescents I now use are far from ideal and they basically just allow me to keep my tender species alive from Fall to Spring. I get everything outside as soon as the weather will allow and leave them there as long as possible.