applestar
Mod

corn question/wasps inspecting my corn

Tassles are starting to grow out of the top of my corn although I can't see any sign of silk/corn in the leaf collars yet. This is my first year growing corn, but according to what I've read, they don't start coming out until the ENTIRE tassle is out and open and the pollen starts to fly -- I hope this is the case and not that my corn are barren. Is there any benefit to feeding them something extra right now? What NPK ratio?

They are being regularly visited by wasps that crawl down into each leaf collar and come back out. I'm assuming they're looking for signs of corn ear worms and am happy that the "inspectors" are on the job. :D

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb

Yep, tassles come first and we were loaded with wasps and bees inspecting. We use a fertilizer that smelled like chicken manure. The local extension office says they want nitrogen. Several stalks hit 11 feet. I'm getting about 2 ears per stalk.

applestar
Mod

Thanks Charlie. :D I gave mine more fish emulsion and straight compost tea.
Two days later and I'm seeing "something" growing out of the collars of the 4 most developed corn plants. Not enough yet to determine how many per plant, etc. but isn't it funny how every little development in the garden can be so exciting? :lol: :wink:

mikeingeorgia

Hey all, I'm growing my first garden also and have 110 corn plants growing. They're between 2-4" tall. Wasps are beneficial to corn? I always considered wasps a painful nuisance.

Charlie MV
Greener Thumb

I don't know if the wasps benefit the corn, they are just all over it and don't seem to hurt anything.

applestar
Mod