rtetelbaum
Newly Registered

Chili Pepper Leaves Growing Funky Web - HELP!

Hello,

I'm extremely new to gardening so let me preface by saying that I really don't know what I'm doing but trying to learn rapidly. I'm growing Chili Peppers in my living room, indoors, on the window sill in a rectangular long plastic pot using Scott's potting mix. The plant has sprung up very quickly and looks healthy. So far no peppers, just leaves.

I've noticed that the larger leaves on top have this fine and thick web growing on them with what looks like tiny orange things moving around in the webbing. Does anyone know what these are? Dangerous? How to I kill them (they keep coming back after I try to wipe away the web)? How to prevent them in the first place?

I've already battled fungus gnats from larva in the soil (I over-watered at first) using some gardening larvacide. Gnats are gone, soil is healthy, but what the heck are these webs on the leaves?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Jess
Greener Thumb

Spider mite! https://www.ag.ndsu.nodak.edu/aginfo/entomology/ndsucpr/Years/2006/july/27/spidermite_wb.jpg
Bound to happen sooner or later with indoor grown plants. I never understand how they find them but they do.
Can you put them outside for a while? A refreshing downpour should get rid of them or the natural predators could get a look in if they were outside. Spiders especially seem to see them off. Find a pet one you can let live on the plant.

In future you can limit the damage by misting the leaves indoors. Spider mite don't like it wet but a yearly outing is the best thing to do. They are very hard to get rid of I am afraid but you can limit the numbers.

rtetelbaum
Newly Registered

Yup that picture is is it! I live in an apartment building so I don't really have a place to put them outside. Is it possible to get rid of them indoors by wiping away the webbing constantly as well as misting the leaves daily?

Thanks!

Jess
Greener Thumb