TheWaterbug
Greener Thumb

When and why do pumpkin plants die?

I've been growing pumpkins and various squash for a few years now, and my experience from year to year is incredibly variable in terms of plant survival, disease, fruit set, fruit size/weight, etc. Some years I'll get 100 fruit from 25 vines, and other years I'll have to supplement from Smart & Final or Trader Joe's in order to host my annual pumpkin party.

One thing that puzzles me is when and why the vines die. Do they die after they're accomplished their life's purpose, e.g. making a fruit? Or after they've been alive for X days? Or do they die when the temps fall below X degrees? Or when the day length gets shorter than X hours? It is programmed in? Or is it just the plant not having enough X to survive?

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

Hey, I have never gardened in Los Angeles and suppose we may have different problems? I will say for sure that pumpkins will die it the temperature hits 32 degrees. I have also seen some little underground Insects eat the roots/stems off just below the ground surface. If this is your problem, you can plant the seed and then treat the area with an insecticide. Diatomaceous Earth is good for a non chemical product. It will keep a lot of critters at bay.

applestar
Mod

It seems to me that almost universally, squash vines often die from fungal disease. Powdery mildew, grey mold, downy mildew, etc. Cucumber beetles also seem to cause many problems including acting as disease vectors.