momof4rugratz

My Spinach :(

Well it bolted. What now... My kids love fresh leaf spinach that was reason they planted it for me. The weather has been nuts here. Last week 60 and 30 at night week before 70 before that almost 90 night was 51 next week it is suppose to be 90-95 and 40-50 at night. No clue what is going on we never get these temps timm July. I am in Northers Utah feel like am in St George :( What should I do.

[img]https://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j78/momof3rugratz/Garden%202009/Garden5-12-09011.jpg[/img]

[img]https://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j78/momof3rugratz/Garden%202009/TeaParty010.jpg[/img]

[img]https://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j78/momof3rugratz/Garden%202009/TeaParty009.jpg[/img]

Curly

I'm no expert, but I'd simply continue planting more spinach. It grows fast, doesn't it? It's one of those plants that needs to be planted in succession, about two or three weeks apart. That way you'll always have great fresh spinach. If you also have swiss chard, you could use those leaves as a replacement whenever there's no spinach ready.

momof4rugratz

Do you think the leaves are ediable right now...I hate to toss the whole plant :( I wont be doing any more spinach right now...

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

Many greens become bitter when they set seed, but the only way to tell for sure is just to pick a leaf and nibble at it.

If it tastes OK, then steam it a little (or microwave for a brief time, until it becomes limp). Nibble again.

If it tastes good, harvest it NOW, because tomorrow it may become bitter, and you'll have to go through the whole rigamarole again. :(

Cynthia H.
Sunset Zone 17, USDA Zone 9

elevenplants

Spinach is NOT a hot weather plant. Remember that next year and get it in EARLY. I planted mine in February here in Zone 7, and had plenty until a week or so ago, when it began to bolt.

Rebecca

applestar
Mod