lyra1977

sweetgum seed pods?

Our yard is full of them, and I am assuming they will compost but will take a long time to break down. Or will I have sweetgum saplings sprouting out of my compost pile?

Please pardon my ignorance as I'm just a beginner :) I did search the forum first to see if this had already been asked :oops:

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Apparently no one really knows the answer to that. I imagine whether or not the sweet gum seeds survive to sprout in your compost pile depends on variables like how hot your pile runs, etc.

I understand that if you have a sweet gum tree, you have tons of the things, so it's a question of what to do with them, but they don't seem like ideal subjects for the compost pile. Tough and woody and will as you said take a while to break down. And the meantime they are spiky and not fun to bump into when you are trying to get to the broken down compost around them.

But off hand I don't have any better suggestion for what to do with them; I understand not wanting to just throw them away (there is no such place as "away" ! :) )

applestar
Mod

I have a sweetgum tree overhanging my back fence where I gather the bulk of my leaves, so I always have sweetgum balls in my compost. I can say that they don't break down well, but the nooks and crannies seem to make perfect apartments for soil denizens. This time of the year, if I unearth them in my garden where unscreened compost was put in, there are earthworms inside most of them. I gleefully put the composted sweetgum balls in the bottom of large containers. :wink: Sometimes, though, slugs hide in them :x

I have several sweetgum volunteers, but only one could have come from compost. Being only 6~8" tall and on the ground, their fall leaf color after the first frost is always startlingly red and really pretty (I don't notice the same coloration on the trees for some reason). I'm waiting to see if I'm going to want to transplant them somewhere. 8)

lyra1977