newgardenerintexas
Newly Registered

Very basic (or dumb) lawn questions?

Hi Everybody,

I am very new at this, so please excuse my dumb questions. I bought a house about 6 months ago in december, and havent done much in my yard since then. As you may guess, my yard is not in good shape now. Here are my questions:

1.How often do I need to water the lawn? I live in houston,tx. it gets pretty hot here.

2.There are a lot of weeds and crab grass in my yard? When should I use a weed n feed? Is it ok to use them in summer? I read somewhere that weed and feed doesnt kill crabgrass. What can I use for crabgrass?

Thanks alot for all the helps...

grue
Newly Registered

I'm hardly an expert, having got our first house only about a year and a half ago, but I'll give this a shot. For reference, I'm up in Spring, so we should be in similar conditions. Your grass is most like St. Augustine, since that's what pretty much everyone here has. We've been trying an organic approach to taking care of our lawn. The backyard in particular was particularly weed-infested as the previous owners had a couple of large dogs back there that left big trails around the yard and there were a couple of overgrown mulberry trees we had removed that were dense enough to kill the grass underneath. Weeds filled these areas in quicker than the grass.