twobunnies
Newly Registered

First Time Herb Garden - Do I Thin my Herbs? (Pics Include)

Hi All!

I'm growing herbs from seed for the first time and I'm looking for some advice. I planted a variety of herbs in pots with the intent of growing them in our insulated sun room and they are growing great so far. (Though I tried some seeds in a seed starter pods and none of them grew!!!) My big question is... Do I need to thin my herbs? They are pretty crowded looking, but this is my first time doing this and I feel awful if I have to pull out a ton of my new seedlings, but at the same time, I want to get as strong and bountiful plants as possible. The basil, thyme, and parsley are about 2 weeks old in these pictures (since planting), and the rest are about 5 weeks old (since planting). I've been seeing some dying off on the chives and cilantro with some sprouts simply dying turning brown and dying, but the dill, basil, and mint all seem to be going very strong. These pots were intended to be their permanent homes, though I may transplant the mint or chives into a bigger pot at some point since they are perennials, but right now I need to know what to do about thinning, if anything at all.

Should I thin these out? What is my best approach for thinning if I need to do it? How many would I take out and how do I best remove them? Any way to save the sprouts I pluck out or remove? Thank you for any help!

EDIT: Not sure what order the pics uploaded in, so hopefully people can tell what pot is which. The plants behind the cilantro and dill in the back row are asters and candytuff flowers.
Attachments
cilantro front and middle row, asters back row
cilantro front and middle row, asters back row
chives and mint on bottom row, dill in middle row, parsley back left and candytuff flower back right
chives and mint on bottom row, dill in middle row, parsley back left and candytuff flower back right