rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

roselle questions

This is my first year growing roselle (thank you applestar :) ). I harvested one batch of flower calyxes so far. The seed pods inside them were green, with little white seeds inside. I'm thinking that means they are immature, right? What will the seed pods and seeds look like when they are ripe enough to collect?

It is a hibiscus, so tropical perennial. Mine is growing in the ground. Can I dig it up and bring it in for the winter? Will it be a huge pain to dig out? Will it likely survive that process? How is it likely to do indoors for the winter in pretty low light conditions? I do try to give some of the houseplants supplemental lighting, but I don't have a great set up and there are lots of houseplants (more every year, somehow.... :shock: )

It is being very slow to open the flowers and set the seeds and we are now in a race with the season. I'm thinking it might end up being in the same dilemma with my moonflower vine... Do I leave it out long enough to finish ripening up the seeds, which is likely to be too late for it to survive the transplanting or do I dig it up early enough while it is still in good shape and sacrifice most of the seeds...

applestar
Mod

(Took care of it for ya :wink:)

I'm so glad Roselle has been a success for you, especially since I wasnt able to get to it. What you are describing is similar to my experience last year -- it was only getting into September that the plants started to bloom in massive amounts. So I think either starting them earlier will help, or else the blooming is triggered by the shorter days. According to Lorax who posted many helpful information, the plant grows like wild in Ecuador near the equator where daylight remains 12 hrs.