tonyfirstyear79

Killing weeds in lawn hurt tomatoes and veggie garden?

I have a question concerning my lawn, weeds, and my tomato plants/vegetable garden. I am having a serious problem with ground ivy taking over my lawn and flower gardens etc. Can anyone suggest a product that will effectively kill these weeds and wont hurt my grass and (more importantly to me) my tomato plants and other veggie plants? My garden is on the far right of my property. I maybe in the wrong forum but I figured Id receive an answer from someone who loves their tomato plants and had the same problem. Id be forever grateful. I am in my first year of owning a house, gardening and lawn care. thanks

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

I'm sorry to say that there is no poison that will kill Ivy and not harm you and your vegetables. Herbicides are herbicides and they are broad based poisons. Herbicides don't just kill plants though, they also kill the microflora that live both on the leaves/stems of plants, in the soil and elsewhere in your garden and so on. They really cause a lot more problems than they solve. They also kill invertebrate animals that are a great help in the garden. This includes worms, beetles, springtails, bugs and so on.

The way to rid yourself of Ivy is to use a shovel and dig up the plants including as much of the root matter that you can find.

To have vibrant, healthy tomatoe plants and a nice green lawn work mulched leaves with manure/used cofee grounds into your soil each fall. This is known as sheet composting. Also, take your grass clippings and put them into your beds as well.

Now, I don't mean to sheet compost over your lawn, do all the beds that are beside your lawn. Sifted composted can loosely be applied over your lawn.

Anyway, if you mulch your beds as decribed above the lawn beside your beds will be greener and grow much more vigorously. You will be amazed.

greg draiss
Newly Registered