brandon558
Cool Member

What to add when planting tomatoes

I was reading an article yesterday that had some interesting info. I am no expert and have had 4 gardens so far. I can grow a tomato but not impressive plants like many of you do. I mix horse manure compost in the garden, till it up, add some 8-8-8 when the plants start to grow. What all can I do to have healthy, high yielding plants this year?

Back to the article I was reading, they dig a 2' hole, put fish heads/ tails, egg shells, a head ache tablet that supposely helps the plants immune system, some Meal worm powder I believe it was, and then they place the plant on top of all of that, add some dirt and plant the plant fairly deep with only the top out of the ground. They swear by it and grow very nice tomatoes. Now I know you don't have to go to that extreme to grow nice tomatoes but was curious what you all have found that works to grow bigger and better yielding tomatoes.

feldon30

Hmm let's see we've got all the old wive's tales.

* fish heads -- neighborhood cats will dig them up
* egg shells -- tomato plants need calcium, but there's usually plenty in the soil. dolomitic lime + mulch + proper watering techniques will stop BER. egg shells alone won't.
* aspirin -- not sure what this is supposed to do (immune system?) but it doesn't work
* meal worm powder -- ok that's a new one

I think it's one of those cases of post hoc ergo propter hoc (after it, therefore because of it). A grower has good soil, adds compost, proper fertilizer, and then adds these red herring items, has good results, and then concludes that it was the fish head, egg shells, and aspirin that did it, rather than everything else he or she did.