HelenRBright
Newly Registered

Need advice on some decent custom raised garden beds

Hey everyone, hoping to get some suggestions on some decent custom raised garden bed that fits in my backyard. I ‘am not really looking to go very high end.I'm just trying to get an idea as to what would work the best for me ,I searched through the internet and I found https://inthebackyard.ca/ . and anyone has dealt with IN THE BACKYARD services . I appreciate any and all suggestions. Thanks!

christianreese
Newly Registered

I have no experience with this company, but I suggest you do a more detailed online research before making up your mind.

Allyn
Green Thumb

I have no experience with that company, but they look really expensive. If building one yourself is out of the question, and it has to be a custom-built bed, I would look locally for a handyman to build you one. Gather pictures of ones you like and have him build it. I'll bet the local lawn-care guys either do it or know who in your area builds stuff like that.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

It will be very pricy. Do you have some particular design in mind that will be difficult to do, e.g. curves, odd shapes?

I built my own 8x4 raised beds from landscape timbers for about $30 each:

I sealed the wood with polyurethane stain for the color and to make the wood last longer. I stack them, drill a hole straight down through the stack and pound steel rebar all the way down through it and into the ground. They are very solid, last a long time.

If you want curves, they can be done with interlocking concrete blocks. This one is one quarter of a circle. Eventually I will build the other quarters, with paths between them.