rocco995
Newly Registered

My deadly balcony and lack of gardening expertise

Good afternoon,

I am a self confessed novice who could do with some expert opinion!

I live in South London on a busy A road and have a 5th floor glazed balcony which faces North west and thus gets the summer afternoon sun, which, naturally, I adore but anything green (so far- Japanese maple, bay tree, various flowers) that I've put out there has perished. Symptoms include

-Leaves of a bay go brown from the outside in. The whole plant doesn't seem to grow.
-Rosemary dries out entirely, leaves go brown and the plan refuses to grow.
-Japanese maple - leaves dry and wither (despite careful watering) and fall off entirely.
-Lilly surprising grows very well, albeit only emerges periodically and disappears entirely before the hotest of the summer sun.

Have always presumed that the combination of the hot summer sun, the glazed balcony and the poor quality air had lead to their demise, but cannot be certain.

The purpose of my query is as follows; what do you think will survive my balcony? Indeed, can anything? Do you think the above conditions are likely to be a key contributor to their early death?

Many, many thanks in advance,

Andy and Rachel

applestar
Mod

Northwest setting sun can get terribly hot in the summer. I'm thinking in London, you would get a longer day than here... maybe the sun sets further north as well? -- how many hours of direct sun? Also glazed -- no ventilation? I think it would best to keep a max/min thermometer in there to monitor the temperature. Too hot can definitely be an issue.

The hours of direct sun is critical.

I'm thinking rosemary should be able to manage if you get sufficient hours of sun and you take care not to let the soil dry out. You need to watch out for red spider mites.