Toadychan
Newly Registered

Evergreen Bonsai turning brown

Struggling beginner here... I got a bonsai for my husband about two months ago and the shopkeeper gave us the instructions to simply "water every day." Once we got it home, he did some research and got it some fertilizer and set a regimen. Now he's away until next year and I've been entrusted with the baby and things aren't looking fantastic.

It seemed great until a couple of weeks ago when I noticed it started browning on the needles close to the trunk and along the base of some of the branches. Initially my husband suspected they were hardening up or dying off because those sections weren't being reached by sunlight. Now it seems to be getting progessively worse and I'm getting concerned.

It's an evergreen of some kind, but I forget what exactly. It sits in my open window facing east so it gets direct morning sunlight. I was following the instructions to water daily but this last week I switched to using a bamboo skewer in the soil to check the moisture level and watering when the skewer is dry. I also started using the "for the bonsai it always rains twice" method, watering thoroughly once, letting it drain, then watering it a second time, then draining again. It gets fertilized every second Friday. I don't know what the soil is like or anything like that, it's been left in what the shop had it in, with some small pebbles on top. I read today that for fertilizing I should be watering it regularly first, then doing it a second time with the fertilizer so as not to burn the roots, which I haven't been doing.