Mariah
Newly Registered

Watering Requirements for Different Bonsai?

Recently, my family and I decided to get involved with different bonsai plants. While purchasing them, we received very little information. What information we did receive, was very confusing and every person we asked gave us a different answer. the biggest question right now that we have is watering; how often, how much, that sort of thing. My mom has a SCHEFFIERA BONSAI; brother has a DWARF HINOKI CYPRESS; boyfriend has a RED CEDAR BONSAI, I have a PORTULACARIA JADE BONSAI; and while there, my daughter planted a JADE BONSAI. If anyone has any information, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you!

Proseph
Newly Registered

I am very new to bonsai as well, however I can help you a slight bit.

Watering is a tough question to answer without knowing what kind of soil or substrate your plants are in. Figure out what is being used in your plants and then someone should be able to more accurately answer your question.

Is the potting media composed of "dirt" more or less? Is the media a substrate (example, lava rock, pumice, akadama)?

Another route to go would be researching each type of tree individually, different plants prefer different levels of moisture.
I can say this with confidence however, water the plant based upon its needs, not based on a schedule.

Good luck :)

tomc
Super Green Thumb

You will on every surviving tree water to your soils ability to pass water.

Were I you, I might get or make some wooden chop sticks. Every single day I would insert my chopstick into soil. If it comes out damp, that soil already has enough water. If dry, its time to top water liberally.

The trees you list will all need to live out of doors. Though you set them on their new bench in afternoon shade (to ease watering needs).

Whats too wet? Again the right question to ask is does the soil my tree is in let excess water escape?