elijahcg
Newly Registered

Transplanting young liquidambar

I have a young liquidambar tree (or trees?) growing precariously in a foot wide patch of dirt between a cement slab and a fence on the side of my house. It is growing less than an inch from the cement and I would like to transplant it before it chokes and dies.

I'd like to make it into a bonsai my main concerns are:
How big of a container do I need initially? (do I need to wait and see the roots to tell?)
if it has a long taproot (or roots), where should I cut it?
how much of the foliage should I remove? (prune before digging up or after repotting?)
how severely can I prune the root ball?
My initial plan was to prune the root ball slightly each year, re potting in a smaller container each time until it can one day fit into a bonsai pot. Does this sound correct?

It has 3 shoots coming out of the ground, one slightly less than an inch thick, the 2nd is about 1/2 inch and the third has become a thin vine that crawls the ground looking for sunlight (area gets no direct sunlight but lots of shaded light). I cannot tell if it is one tree or 3 trees trying to survive adjacently. The tallest trunk is about 3 feet tall.
Sorry for asking so many questions its just rare for my 80 year old liquidambar to propagate itself like this and I have only one chance to save it.
Any advice would be appreciated.
see pictures to see how trunk comes out of dirt and elbows awkwardly upward.
Attachments
pic4.jpg
full view
full view
3 trunks growing close to cement
3 trunks growing close to cement
pic1.jpg

tomc
Super Green Thumb

In a perfect world I would collect him next spring.

This will give you time to:

1. Use your shovel to cut roots slightly short, even while leaving it in place.

2. Use your toe nail cutters to shorten branches to terminal leaf(s) closest to the trunk.

3. Collect the sand or granite chicken scratch and bark mulch to build proper soil.