LiddleBuddha
Cool Member

Mimosa Tree (Albizia julibrissin - Persian Silk Tree)

Hello ynot, Gnome and everyone...

Okay, so last night I had an idea. I don't know if it is too advanced for a total beginner like me, or not. Also, if it is possible, I'm not entirely sure how to go about it.

I've really been trying to think of a good first tree for me. As I was drifting to sleep my mind wandered to the large Mimosa tree that lived in my backyard during my childhood. I practically lived in that tree as a kid. Snap :!: :idea: I woke up and thought, "That's it!" A Mimosa would be great!

I am very fond of this tree. Therefore I thought it might make a fitting first bonsai for me. But I don't know if it is possible for someone with my total beginner status and naivete. :roll: :lol:

My mom still lives at that same house. The original tree trunk split in half and the whole tree died. However, it then sprouted new growth right out of the dead trunk stump and years later is a large Mimosa tree reborn! :shock: :P

So... would there happen to be a simple(ish) way to make a bonsai somehow from this existing tree in my mom's yard?

Sorry for the extended back-story. I just wanted to point out how I arrived at this idea. A Mimosa bonsai would be very special. And if I kill it, I know where I could get another started! :wink: :twisted: hehe

I'm including a couple of Mimosa bonsai pics that I found on Google. Any ideas, thoughts, advice, suggestions would absolutely be greatly appreciated! :D

Thanks much!
- LB

[url=https://img127.imageshack.us/my.php?image=mimosabonsaigb6.jpg][img]https://img127.imageshack.us/img127/4373/mimosabonsaigb6.th.jpg[/img][/url]

[url=https://img236.imageshack.us/my.php?image=mimosatreepo3.jpg][img]https://img236.imageshack.us/img236/6463/mimosatreepo3.th.jpg[/img][/url]

ynot
Greener Thumb

LB,
I don't know much about them...

A quick Google of 'air-layer' in combo with Mimosa and it comes up as being a species that will air-layer.