DrewT
Newly Registered

Help ID this tree please

I recovered this bonsai from a store front I live by (they don't sell plants, they had it as décor). I have been watching it over the last couple months, while it began to look worse and worse. One day I noticed it was missing, so I went in and inquired about it. They had moved it to the back of the store and planned to pitch it, so I just took it off their hands.

Now I have it and have the challenge of identifying it and then trying to bring it back to health. Unfortunately I have little knowledge of its history as far as watering, feeding, age.

Identifying factors
1. Small white flowers (five points)
2. Whitish gray bark that is somewhat cracked and scaly
3. Fuzzy buds at new growth areas.
4. Leaves are tear shape, smooth edges, simi-ruff leaf surface

I think it is a Fukien Tea, but I am not 100%. The leaves that are remaining don't have the three points at the top of the leaf like a fukien.

The problem
1. The few leaves that remain are dried out but are reluctant to fall off, actually are attached quite firmly.
2. The branches are all still alive, I pruned several to see if they had any green in them and they do.
3. The tree has survived indoors for years.

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

Drew,

It sounds like you have identified it correctly. If you search the forum you will find numerous posts concerning Fukien Tea. I don't grow them so I can't offer much.
The leaves that are remaining don't have the three points at the top of the leaf like a fukien.
One thing I have learned from looking at pictures other members have posted is that not every leaf exhibits the characteristic notched tip that you mention, so don't let their absence throw you.