hexgrid
Newly Registered

Is there any hope for this tree?

Hi, I'm new to bonsai trees.

I was attempting to repot a Hawaiian Umbrella tree suffering from (I think) root rot. While rinsing away the soil from the roots, all of the bark around the base of the truck (which was soft, peeling, and mushy underneath) washed off the tree as easily as the soil in the roots.

You can see what's left in the image. Is there any hope for this tree? Would repotting be a waste of time? Farther up the trunk, it's still green beneath the bark.

[img]https://pixelgirlpresents.com/images/peeled_bark.jpg[/img]

Gnome
Super Green Thumb

hexgrid,

The way I see it you have two options. Take cuttings now before the plant withers away or try to layer it.

You could cut cleanly through the bark and re-pot with rooting hormone and Sphagnum Moss as I have done here. Make sure to go to the next page to see the possible results.

https://www.helpfulgardener.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=40359#40359

In the meantime, I hope you have kept the root-ball from drying out.

Norm

hexgrid
Newly Registered

Thanks for the advice. I'm going to attempt layering.

If it doesn't work, it's not a huge loss with this tree, and at least I'll get some experience with the technique.

Victrinia Ridgeway

This tree has suffered bad damage from root rot, all the way to the collar. So there is no life in those roots at all. You'd do best to treat it as a big cutting... and saw off the infected area (dispose of it away from any other plants)... and apply some rooting hormone and put it in a light mixture of perlite and some composted bark or even just soil... but mostly perlight to keep it light.

Do NOT reuse any of the soil that was in with that plant... like the roots it needs to be thrown out. Or you'll infect other trees with the fungus spores.